>I mentioned that I’m going on a vacation last week. What I left out is that M’s ex-wife lives in the town we’ll be visiting. My in-laws have a condo there, so we are meeting them there. It’s a small town, but my issue with the trip isn’t that I’m afraid of running into her. My problem is that my in-laws (or, more specifically, my MIL) are still friends with her. Some people may think this is normal, but it drives me crazy. I know it doesn’t mean that they like me less, but I can’t help but feel like they wish M was still married to her. M gets mad at his parents when they see her, but he doesn’t confront them about it. I don’t expect him to – he really can’t without making me sound insecure and petty. When he and his ex-wife lived in the same town, they were friends. He was initially angry when she asked for a divorce, but his feelings changed over time. They were on friendly terms before he relocated (they haven’t stayed in contact since then), which probably led his parents to think that continuing a relationship with her was fine. But for me – I just don’t get it. I know it shouldn’t bother me, but it does. And the part that bothers me even more is that she went to visit my MIL last week so that my MIL could see her new baby.

I want to be excited for my vacation, but today – I am just not feeling it.

