>I know most people who are ttc give up drinking. Sometimes I feel like I should, but so far, I am not one of those people. I don’t go out and have wild nights of binge-drinking, but I do really enjoy a couple of glasses of wine each night. Sometimes, I just have one, and sometimes I have two (although the glasses I use are quite small, so it probably equates to one and a half glasses). Every now and then, I have a little bit more, but I try to limit it. Some days and weeks are better than others.

I would have no problem giving it up if I were pregnant. I just don’t think I should have to give it up before then. I know that on one hand, I should do everything I can to increase my chances of getting pregnant. On the other hand, though, I wonder how much difference really makes.

I lead a really healthy life, and drinking is my one vice. I exercise, eat a high fiber, low-fat diet, I don’t eat red meat, I almost never eat fast food, I almost never eat dessert, and I take vitamins. I probably have one soda every other month. I try to use as many all-natural ingredients as possible and make as much as I can from scratch. I don’t drink coffee, and I have one cup of tea per day (although I do drink more tea when I see my in-laws, since they’re British, and I do drink iced tea fairly often).

M and I have a glass of wine almost every night – either during or after dinner (or both!). In the winter, I sometimes had a glass of wine with dinner, but sometimes I skipped it. The problem with the summer is that we love to sit on the balcony, drink wine, and chat. We make dinner, eat, take the dog for a walk, and then hang out on the balcony for the rest of the night – drinking wine and talking.

I’ve considered giving up wine, but I wonder how much it would really help. I know there are studies that say that alcohol is bad when ttc, but it just seems so odd to me. Eating an unhealthy diet is ok, but wine is not? Do people really get pregnant as soon as they stop drinking wine?

I love our life together, and I obviously want to have a child. I know, though, that there are no guarantees. I don’t want too much of our life to become wrapped up in ttc and infertility, and I want to focus on the positive. I feel like giving up something I enjoy will just be another reminder of what isn’t happening. Drinking is the one thing that I’ll need to give up once (hopefully) I am pregnant, so it’s almost like a silver lining. Things may not be going well on the ttc front, but at least I can enjoy a glass of wine. 🙂

