>I am back from vacation! We had a great time and had a lot of time to relax. It was fantastic!

Unfortunately, AF arrived earlier than expected. My cycle was only 26 days long this time, although I did ovulate earlier, too. I can’t say I was stunned when AF came early. Unfortunately, I set my fertility monitor later than I should have, and now everything is screwed up. The monitor gives you a three-hour window for testing, but the combination of oversleeping and the time difference made the three-hour window later than is really feasible. So, this morning, I turned it on at 7 am, but the monitor thought it was the previous day. I was running late this morning, so I tried it again at 8:20…by then, it knew it was the next day and was ready for a test stick. Of course, I had to pee when I woke up, so I was out of luck. Apparently, the solution is to pee in a cup in the morning, and then use the test stick later on to test it. It’s kind of annoying, but at least it’s a solution. I just have to decide if I want to bring my pee and the monitor to work (how fun!), or if I want to just come in late. I don’t have to worry about it over the weekend, but I need to decide what to do on the weekdays.

While I was on vacation, I saw some people I used to know that I haven’t seen in a long time. A lot of them have gotten married, and it seemed like everyone was ttc! It was sort of surprising. I feel like most people I know that are my age are ttc, and unfortunately, it doesn’t seem to come easily to most of us. Maybe I’m just more sensitive to it, but it was a surprise.

We got back on Sunday, and I went to the dr. on Monday. I was sort of nervous about it, but M and I agreed that we would start some testing but not necessarily any treatment until the fall. I realized I would be on vacation in August around the time I’ll be ovulating, so there isn’t much of a point to starting anything.

When I got to the dr’s office, the nurse told me that the dr. I usually see was at the hospital delivering a baby, and the dr. who owns the practice was also out delivering a baby. So, I was seeing a different dr. – Dr. R.

The nurse took all my info, and she asked if I was ttc. I was mildly annoyed, because we just talked about it when I was there last time (for the yeast infection and bv). But, I reminded myself that they have tons of patients, and it’s really up to me to tell them about my concerns. At the same time, since my usual dr. was out, I thought that I would probably just call in August to set up an appointment to talk about a plan to get me pregnant – and just stick with the annual exam for now.

Was I in for a surprise! Dr. R. came in and explained that she no longer does the OB side of things, aside from an occasional appointment to help the other dr’s, because she is a single parent and can’t always get to the hospital for deliveries. She’s much more direct than the other dr. I usually see, and she asked me right away how long we had been ttc. When I said 9-10 months, she jumped right into a plan. I was actually kind of relieved – even though I was a bit surprised at the same time. She thinks I’m better off seeing her for now, since she’s always available and won’t be out delivering babies.

So, we scheduled a bunch of bloodwork for CD3 of my next cycle. It was quite a list! Even though I went to an RE in the past, they either didn’t do as many tests or did them without telling me. Already, this is a better experience. Plus, my dr’s office has a lab, so I can go there. She wanted me to start charting my bbt again, and I’m supposed to bring those in, and M has to get a SA. After that, she wants to get an antral follicle count. Then, we’ll come up with a plan.

I feel good about it! I like this dr., and while I don’t know what will happen or what we’re going to find out, at least it’s progress.

