>M was able to get his sample to the lab yesterday, within the hour they had given him. He said it did take about 45 minutes to get it there and drop it off, so hopefully it’s ok. I already warned him that if it took too long, he’ll just have to do it again (which isn’t the worst thing in the world, but I wanted him to be prepared). The lab he brought it to was inside this facility that’s sort of a hospital/lab/dr’s office all-in-one kind of thing, and it isn’t always the easiest place to navigate. Apparently, he got there, went to the correct floor, but was sent to another floor to wait in line to register. After that, he could go back to the lab floor and drop it off. The whole thing is ridiculous…don’t they realize there’s a time factor with these things???

In the end, though, he got it there with 10-15 minutes to spare. They asked what time the sample was “taken,” so maybe they keep that in mind.

I know a lot of women who are ttc kind of role their eyes at the “difficulties” their partners have to go through while dealing with fertility testing and treatment, but I was honestly touched by the whole thing. Here he was, running all over a hospital with a cup of semen in his pocket (after going home to take care of our dog and “get” the sample, I might add), and he had no complaints. He actually had a sense of humor about the whole thing, which I really, really appreciated.

The thing is…M didn’t think he ever wanted kids, and he did everything he could to avoid it. His change of heart was a surprise to me, and I think it was to him, too. I know he assumed that when we “stopped preventing it,” it would happen. After that, I know he thought that once we started trying, it would happen. Almost everyone he knows has either gotten pregnant by accident or on their first try, so the world of infertility is new to him.

In contrast, my ex-husband and I already tried to have children. I already had to deal with the realization that it isn’t so easy for everyone…and that for some people, it’s exceptionally difficult. When M and I decided to start trying, I was nervous. I didn’t want to have to think about trying to have a child again, and I didn’t know what it would do to us. Infertility wreaked havoc on my previous marriage (ok actually, infertility highlighted all the lousy parts of my previous marriage), and I didn’t want to go through that again.

M and I only decided to try to have children 9-10 months ago, so things are moving kind of quickly for two people who didn’t even thing they would want kids two years ago (of course, I am also 35 now). I didn’t really know how he would feel if our journey brought us here…if he would be hesitant, unwilling, wavering…but I’m over it. I know there may be hard times and disappointments ahead, but I feel like I can finally separate my current situation from my previous experience. I am dealing with a similar situation, but the people are different. I’m in a different state, with a different doctor, and with a loving and supportive husband who has a great sense of humor. 🙂

