>I met an old coworker last night for a drink. I hadn’t seen her in a while, but we meet up every month or so and talk about what’s been happening with each of us. She’s about 20 years older than I am, so I always appreciate her perspective.

She’s familiar with where I work, so we always spend some time talking about that. She said she knew this job wouldn’t be for me, so she wasn’t surprised that I started looking for something else. I told her how I got a call about a possible interview, but now I’m sort of confused about whether or not I am actually one of the candidates. I know I’m in the group they are seriously considering (aka, the short list), but I don’t know how may people are in that group or when they will make a definite decision about who will be interviewed. So, I am waiting to hear from them.

She asked me what was going on with our efforts to try to get pregnant, so I explained that, too. With everything else we have going on, it probably isn’t realistic to throw fertility medications into the mix, but I’m still waiting for my prescriptions to be covered, anyway. Plus, my job right now makes it almost impossible to have any kind of monitoring, since the dates for my next work-related trip are still t.b.d. We’re still trying on our own, but everything else is essentially on hold. I’m waiting for something the happen there, too, but it’s likely a longer wait.

We’re also trying to decide if we should get another dog. We’ve been thinking about it for a long time, but we were waiting to see how things were with our cat (and if I would get pregnant). Well, our cat died a few weeks ago, but now we don’t know what we want to do. We’re waiting to see how the dog does on his own, and how we feel about the whole thing.

Everything is up in the air. I know we just need to stick it out – and that at some point, something will be concrete. Things will fall into place, and then my feelings about everything else will follow. But for now, I feel like I am just waiting – for everything.

