>
I went to lunch yesterday with M's coworker's wife. I met her once, and she seemed nice. She's a lot younger than I am, but you wouldn't really know it, and while we don't have a ton in common, it was super nice of her to ask me to lunch. I guessed that she and her husband were having fertility problems when I met them (I swear I have super sensitive infertility radar) – partially because of her obvious love for children and the length of time they've been married – but also because she mentioned being on medication. They also bought a big house a year ago, and while that doesn't all necessarily add up to infertility – I just sort of had a feeling.

We had lunch yesterday, and she said she had gone to see her ob/gyn in the morning. She really raved about him, and mentioned he deals with infertility, too – and said that's why she was there. I was so impressed by her openness. I wanted to say something like, 'oh me too,' but it took me a while longer to finally say that we have infertility issues, as well. At first, I just kept eating, thinking about what I should say, but saying nothing. I don't know why it's so hard for me to tell people about it – I'm not embarrassed – but the words just don't come out of my mouth.

Our problems are much different, though – mine are undiagnosed (or undiagnosable), aside from age, and no one has really even identified age as the issue (I just assume it's not helping). This person (my lunch friend) has some issues that the doctor is trying to manage, but it seems like it hasn't been going all that well. She seemed ok, but since we just met, it's hard to say. She had full confidence in her doctor, though, and said he was able to identify problems that have existed all along…things that were causing other health issues, as well. If I were her, I would keep seeing him, too, but for me…I just don't know. I feel like I should see another doctor…get a second opinion, maybe have some more tests…find out why I started having mid-cycle spotting a few months ago…find out why I keep having pain in my ovaries before I ovulate…but I'm just so hesitant to go. It's almost like I just don't want to go there, mentally and emotionally – I don't want to start all over again – only to have it not work out.

So, we'll see. I want to see things through with acupuncture first, and then I'll decide. The crazy part is that this person and my acupuncturist recommended the same doctor! Makes you wonder…

Oh and it turns out that another coworker of M's asked him if we had kids recently, or if we wanted to. M said that we tried, it didn't work out (he obviously doesn't have the same problem I do!), but that we were ok…blah, blah, blah. So now we wonder if another person overheard (they are all in close quarters) – the coworker whose wife asked me out to lunch!

