>I had my fourth acupuncture appointment yesterday. It went fine, as it always does, but I have to admit I was a little disappointed by how I felt when AF arrived. I mean, of course I hoped the acupuncturist would be some kind of a miracle worker, and that I would find out I was pregnant after four short weeks of treatment, but I didn’t really expect it. What was more disappointing was how I felt physically. I sort of assumed – maybe incorrectly – that even if I didn’t get pregnant through acupuncture, I would at least feel the same or better than I usually do when I get my period. I was disappointed that my LP was exactly the same (or shorter, depending on whether or not one agrees with fertility friend’s ovulation date), and I had worse cramping than I have in months. I couldn’t sleep at all on Monday night because I was in so much pain, and the lack of sleep made me feel that much worse on Tuesday. On top of having cramps, I was nauseous and exhausted all day yesterday. I felt better after acupuncture, but I was even more tired (although that’s not unusual for me). Thankfully, I am feeling better today, and my cramps have pretty much disappeared.

It’s not the first time I’ve had horrible cramps with AF, but it had been a while since I had been that uncomfortable. When I started running, AF became easier to manage, and I realized yesterday that this is the first month in a while (probably close to a year) that I haven’t been running as regularly as I have in previous months. So, that may be part of it. Still, though, I hoped that taking herbs and getting acupuncture once a week would have made more of a difference. My acupuncturist thinks that my bbt chart shows an implantation dip, and that AF is worse because it was a pregnancy that didn’t stick. I suppose that could be true, but I’m not entirely convinced. She encouraged me to make a doctor’s appointment, because she’s still thinking I have some kind of a cyst (or something similar) somewhere that’s causing a problem. Her thinking is that it will take a month or so to get an appointment, so we can keep doing acupuncture in the meantime and can possibly get rid of it (whatever it is) that way. In a month or so, if I’m still not pregnant and still having issues, then she thinks it would be a good idea to have a doctor check it out.

I think it’s a good plan – but there is one problem. My insurance is still screwed up from moving, and the insurance I have right now isn’t accepted at the doctor’s office she (and someone else I know) suggested – or at pretty much any other doctors’ offices in the area. I put in a request to change it (moving out of the area counts and a life change or whatever they call it, so I don’t have to wait for open enrollment) when I decided to keep my current job, so I need to follow up on that today.

I’m not discouraged by the results from acupuncture, really – my chart did look different than it has in the past, which I think is a step. I think expecting major results (like a pregnancy) after four appointments would be a little unrealistic, and I’m really curious how things will look this cycle. It was disappointing to feel worse than usual, but I don’t want to dwell on it. At least I’m feeling better today.

So, here’s my plan for this cycle:
Castor oil packs (3 times per day for a few days – maybe starting today or tomorrow)
Vitex (twice per day)
Natural progesterone (at night after ovulation)
Continue bbt chart
OPK’s
Acupuncture

And I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed, too. 🙂

