>I haven’t been posting much because I really don’t have much to say. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad, but I’m trying to be positive and assume it’s good.

Things have been moving along here…continuing with acupuncture, bbt’s, herbs. I’m trying to be more conscious of what I eat, and that’s had some interesting results. My acupuncturist (who has wondered if I have some kind of a cyst) suggested at one point that I cut back on gluten. In her words, I don’t need to “go crazy,” but might try just avoiding gluten when I can…cutting back on breads and pastas and focusing on lean meats and veggies. Her theory is that some people have gluten sensitivities and that avoiding gluten can help, particularly if I do have some kind of a cyst.

I was a little hesitant, only because there are people who really cannot have gluten and can become quite ill from it…and I don’t think I’m one of those people. But, I figured that breads and pastas probably aren’t doing me a whole lot of good, anyway, so I have been avoiding them and have been instead eating fruits, veggies, meats, etc. I had always been a low fat/high fiber kind of girl – eating lots of pasta salads with beans and veggies, whole grain cereals and breads, etc, but I eliminated those, too. After doing this for about a month, the little tummy I was developing is going away! It’s actually noticeable. I’m no longer bloated, and I wasn’t even right before I got my period. I don’t know if it’s really because of the gluten, or if it’s just an issue of removing unnecessary carbs (although because I run, I have been eating the occasional baked potato), or something else entirely, but I am going to keep it up for a while. I definitely didn’t expect to lose weight (or fat, or bloat, or whatever it is) through all this, but it’s a pleasant side effect.

I debated this cycle about how much longer I want to continue with acupuncture. I really enjoy it – but the cost gets to me at times. I think of what else I could be doing with the money, and I question if I’m just throwing money away. We want to buy a house, and I could put that money in savings! But, I remind myself that for one thing, it’s money toward my health – while the goal is to have a baby, I do think I’m more relaxed and healthier overall. Plus, I do believe it’s working. Whether or not I’ll get pregnant is questionable (I certainly hope so, but I know it’s far from guaranteed), but things are changing for the better. I was stunned to see my LP lengthen after just a month of acupuncture treatments, and my acupuncturist was, too. She said it usually takes a lot longer to see results or any changes, which is encouraging. Plus, this is probably my last real attempt at getting pregnant. I’ll see the dr. my acupuncturist recommended when my insurance is all straightened out, but aside from some tests and getting a second opinion, I don’t think we’re going to pursue any additional fertility treatments. So, this is pretty much it. She said that it takes 3-6 months to treat infertility through acupuncture, and I had mentally committed to going for three months. I’m only halfway to three months now. Another three could be tough to face (financially), but I sort of hope I can see it through.

