I have been thinking about my last post, and I realized that in order to put this behind me, I need to move forward and/or put it to rest. I think this looming need to make a doctor’s appointment is just adding to the weight of this whole situation, so I decided – it was time to just call the doctor.

I also took a break from work and was watching that show, the Doctors, and they were emphasizing how important it is for women to have an annual exam. I thought – I just need to do it and get it over with! On top of this whole infertility issue, I haven’t even had an annual exam in almost two years. So…I decided it was time to call.

And I did…but then…

I was on hold for 50 minutes!!! 50 minutes for an appointment?!? Now I have been warned that there is almost always at least a two hour wait to see this doctor, and that it takes a while to get in. That sort of bothered me, because a consistent two hour wait or more is just sort of…I don’t know…a bad sign. I understand that emergencies happen, but consistent lateness – and especially when it’s over 2 hours – makes me a little uncomfortable. But whatever – because of these glowing reports, I was going to give it a try…until I sat on hold for 50 minutes trying to make an appointment.

So now, I’ve decided that I am going to go elsewhere. It may be a mistake…but I know how I am, and this isn’t going to work for me. I’ve been mildly freaked out by seeing a male gynecologist, and then the warnings about wait time, and now being on hold to make an appointment – it’s just not a good match for my needs. I’m too easily discouraged in all this.

I found a few other practices that seem good, so I think I am going to make an appointment on Monday (since being on hold took almost an hour, it was 5 by the time I hung up!). Now I just need to decide if I want a smaller practice with two physicians (both women! yay for that!), a larger practice that’s closer that also has a RE on staff, or a medium-sized practice that’s also fairly close by.

It’s so discouraging, but I feel like I’m making some kind of progress.

