For whatever reason, I’m feeling better today. I think that AF is on its way, but I’m happy that cycle appears to be again reflecting the benefits of acupuncture. I’m 13 dpo today, and while I can tell AF is coming, today will probably not be the day. So, at a minimum, my lp will probably be 13 or 14 days, which never happened¬†before I started acupuncture. Last month, my lp was 14 days, so maybe this cycle will be the same. My temps are low and a little wacky, but a longer lp is good.

I’ve tried to put this whole doctor appointment thing out of my mind, knowing that the right solution would just come to me. Sometimes I over think things and second guess my decisions, so NOT thinking can help me come to the right conclusion. My inclination from the beginning was to go to a smaller practice with female ob/gyns, so that’s what I’m going to do. I found one that has two doctors – both female – that is accepting new patients. One was listed as one of the best doctors in the area (although there were about 30 to choose from, and I’m not even sure how these conclusions are reached), so I’m going to give this place a try. I’ve decided I’m just going to have an annual exam, but I’ll also mention these ovary pains and the spotting/mid-cycle bleeding I had a few months ago.

Most likely, that’s all I’m going to do. This practice has some info. on their website about infertility testing, and I guess I’ll just see what they say. I don’t know if it’s worth it to repeat any of the tests I had before…it’s been ages since I had a hsg, and while I could repeat it, I’m not exactly dying to. We could repeat all my bloodwork again, but similarly, I’m not sure if there’s much of a point to it. I started thinking that maybe we should try other treatments…that maybe we gave up too quickly…that maybe someone would be able to figure out what’s preventing me from getting pregnant in the first place, and fix it…but really, I want to move on.

I’m going to stick with my original plan. I buy acupuncture treatments in 5-session packages, and because of some scheduling issues, I’ll have to skip a few weeks this month and won’t buy my next package until the end of March. Those five sessions will bring me to the end of April, and at that point, I’ll have been getting acupuncture for 4-4.5 months. I had planned to do it for three months and then reevaluate, but I’ll do the fourth month, since I have to skip a few weeks of treatments in between. Besides, I’ll have paid for it three times, which is what I had planned on initially. More than likely, that will be the end of the road.

I’ll get my annual exam (calling today for an appointment), give acupuncture a little more time, and if I’m still not pregnant, I think that will be the end of the road for us. And hopefully, I can just put it behind me.

