My endometrioma and I will be parting ways the day after tomorrow. I finally told my parents about it and feel SO much better. I’m really glad I did. My dad sounded really good this week, so I thought it would be a good time to tell them. My mom was actually kind of excited (yes, really – she said she was excited) that my doctor actually found something that may have been making it more difficult for me to get pregnant. I would say the downside is that she’s a little overly optimistic about the results, and is hoping that I’ll get pregnant naturally after the surgery. I hope so too, but I just don’t know if that’s really the case. I wouldn’t say it’s something I’m expecting to happen. It’s also unclear how much of an issue the endo really is, aside from the endometrioma, and I don’t know how long I’ve had the cyst. It will be good to find out a little more on Thursday. My RE has already said she’s recommending IVF after this, but she also recommended surgery whether we do IVF or not.

I feel ready now. As much as I laughed at my mother for being excited, it really is kind of exciting. It’s the first major step we’ve taken toward getting pregnant, and I feel like it’s actually addressing an issue. I was hesitant to pursue treatment after our experience a few years ago with my ob/gyn, who took more of a ‘let’s try this and see if it works’ approach, and my experience with an RE in another state with my previous husband was terrible. I’m still not looking forward to the recovery, but it feels good to be making progress.

