I have good news, and I have not-so-great news.

The good:

– Today is CD 1, and for the first time in many months, I did not have days of spotting before my period.

– I also – for the first time in over two years – was able to run the day before my period without being in so much pain that I thought I might pass out or vomit from pain.

– Also a plus – no mid-cycle spotting.

– I have only taken tylenol TWICE since 4:00 am (I usually take at least two, but sometimes 3, every four hours for the first 2-3 days of my period).

– I think I am benefiting from the surgery, even though I’m obviously not pregnant yet.

– I think I may even be losing a little bit of weight sans-ovary-covering-endometrioma. My tummy is flatter and less bloated. Maybe it was throwing off my hormones?

The bad:

– The IVF lab that my RE’s office uses is closed for the month of July.

It’s sort of crazy, right? I swear, I am moving toward treatment at a snail’s pace. I went to see the RE in February. It’s a good thing I’m patient!

I feel good overall, though. I’m hoping to use the extra time to keep achieving the balance of getting into even better shape while engaging in some poolside drinking – not simultaneously, of course. AF should arrive next time in mid- to late-July, and I’ll start bcp’s on CD 5. The amount of time I’ll be on those is tbd.

I thought I’d be more upset, but I’m not. To be honest, I’m conflicted about the upcoming IVF cycle. It’s exciting, in a way – the possibility of it working, and the idea that we would actually be having a child. It feels good to know we’re doing all we can, even if the end result isn’t what we would have wanted. I guess that’s where the conflict comes in, though…I have no idea if it will work. Of course, I hope it does, but I know it could go either way. I’m not looking forward to being on all that medication, and just dealing with the stress of an IVF cycle. So, while I’m excited to move forward, I also don’t mind hanging onto my life as I know it for another month. And I’m determined to make it a good one!

