As if it wasn’t complicated enough trying to figure out if we should do IUI or IVF this cycle, and trying to see what would fit within my travel schedule, I realized today that my period is coming early. I’m spotting – kind of a lot – and woke up in the middle of the night with cramps, which I’ve had on and off ever since…and today is CD 23. I could scream or cry or kick something…because I’m pretty sure that means we’ll be doing NOTHING again this month. I thought a medicated IUI would be a good option, but I have to go out of town for work on Tuesday, and I won’t get back until very late Thursday night. Since it’s now Friday afternoon, I don’t see how I would have time to get medication before leaving at 8 am Tuesday morning. On top of that, there’s the whole monitoring aspect of it, and the problem of traveling with medication and dealing with all that on a work trip. I can’t see how IVF would work at all, because it’s no longer a question of extending bcp’s by a week or so – my August trip would fall right in the middle of an IVF cycle no matter how you figure it. It’s just so incredibly frustrating – I went to the RE in February, had surgery in April, and have basically been wasting time ever since.

And my early period? It’s such a reminder of the fact that I am running out of time – that things are getting out of whack, and my eggs are getting old. Did I mention my mom was in her mid-40’s when she went through menopause?

