If all goes well (body, PLEASE cooperate this time), I’ll be starting bcp’s in a little over a month to in preparation for my IVF cycle. I only have to take them for two weeks, so I would theoretically start lupron in mid-September. I have a trip I have to take for work in mid-September, but if my body cooperates, I’ll be traveling during bcp time, and not lupron time. I am crossing my fingers that my body cooperates! I really don’t want to have to travel with lupron and deal with injections on my work trip if I don’t have to. I have a menstrual calendar app on my phone that attempts to predict my cycles, and it seems to be using a 24 day cycle for the calculations. I usually have a cycle in the 26-28 day range, but last month things got a little crazy with my 23 day cycle. Att least one normal 26-28 day cycle would be ideal, so that I can travel for work without worrying about injections or timing. AF should arrive next week, and then again at the end of August or beginning of September. Late is ok – early is not. Fingers crossed!

So, I have another month to continue getting into shape. I think I’m going to do either a 5k or 10k race in early September, which would be a great way to kick things off. I don’t know how much I’ll be able to run while doing IVF or while pregnant, but I know that the more endurance I have now, the easier it will be to stay in some kind of shape, and hopefully continue running at least a little. I have a family history of obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, and high cholesterol, so it’s really important to me to stay healthy and fit. We added swimming to our exercise routine a month or so ago and are still trying to swim twice a week, but in all honesty, it ends up being once a week more often than not. I have sort of a tiered system in my mind – running is the priority, then yoga, and then swimming. I was feeling a little fatigued this morning and decided to skip swimming with the hope of having a better long run tomorrow. Exercising every day can be tiring…rest is good, too!

We’re both trying to eat better, too. We’re sticking to a schedule of 1-2 meals out per week, although that is also super challenging! We had a good plan for this week but forgot our friend’s birthday is this weekend, so now we have to go out on an unplanned night for dinner. We juggled some other plans around and are making it work, but it’s not easy. Having a bunch of fresh vegetables from the garden helps us stick to the schedule, and I think I made my best loaf of bread yet yesterday, which also doesn’t hurt. I know a lot of people avoid carbs, but I love bread, so I try to avoid carbs in other places – cereals, crackers, etc. Plus, one slice of the bread I made is pretty filling, and there’s nothing in it but flour, yeast, and water. Everything in moderation! I’m trying to be good about drinking wine, but I’m not going to totally restrict myself until the IVF cycle starts. I can only be so good! 🙂 I’m trying to be better about caffeine, too, and have one cup (instead of three) of tea a day. I’m going to start acupuncture soon, too, but I’m waiting until the cycle gets a little closer. I’m also considering circle + bloom, but I only want to get it if I’m really going to use it. I probably should.

Overall, I feel good, but I do feel like there’s a small part of me that’s in denial about the IVF cycle. I think part of the issue is that I’ve had such scheduling issues and delays – it’s hard to assume it’s actually going to happen. It’s even harder to believe that by Thanksgiving, we’ll have finished an IVF cycle and will either be pregnant – or not.

