I’m participating in ICLW this month for the first time in ages. It’s been at least a year, if not more. I hope I can keep up!

For any new visitors, here’s a summary of our infertility journey:

We started ttc #1 about four years ago, at the age of 34. We had some initial testing done with my ob/gyn after about nine months, which revealed nothing, and tried a few cycles of Clomid. We ended up taking a somewhat unplanned break while waiting to start a cycle with Follistim, and basically just got wrapped up in day-to-day life for a while. We spent a lot of time waffling between accepting living childfree and continuing treatments, and in February this year, we finally saw an RE*. She found that my FSH was a bit high and my AMH was a bit low for my age (now 37), and that I also had a large-ish endometrioma covering one of my ovaries. I had a lap in April and have been attempting to schedule our first IVF cycle ever since. I had some travel planned (both for work and for fun) that made it difficult, but we’re finally gearing up to start IVF in September. I’m now 38, and that September IVF cycle will also mark our fourth year ttc. I sincerely hope we don’t make it to five!

Most of the blogs I used to read are now parenting blogs, so I’m hoping to find some new bloggers who are in the same boat.

 

 

*I also saw an RE in my previous marriage and found it to be a totally unpleasant experience, which made me kind of hesitant to go down that road again. 

