No meds yet, but I did receive a big packet of info from my RE’s office over the weekend. It has the start of a schedule, a list of medications I’ll be taking, and lots of other paperwork and forms. I had to start birth control pills over the weekend, and I’ll be taking those for a total of 18 days, finishing on 9/25. Then, on 9/28, I’ll start lupron, and on 9/30, (tentatively) I’ll also start gonal-f and menopur. That was generally how my RE had explained it to me, so I was prepared for all that. I’m still a little unsure if I have to do all this once a day or twice a day, but I have time to find out.

What surprised me was all the other stuff on the list – dexamethasone, medrol, crinone, ovidrel, and estraidol. And of course – doxycycline, because my RE seems to be obsessed with antibiotics. I’m already taking a z-pak in preparation for the IVF cycle, so it seems a little overkill to me, but I suppose one extra antibiotic in the scheme of things isn’t a huge deal. I was a bit bummed about the steroids, only because I feel like hormones + steroids = crazy, but it’s possible (likely) that just the hormones or just the steroids could make me crazy on their own. The other meds make sense – I just hadn’t really thought of it. I kept thinking I’d be ordering 3, maybe 4 types of medications…not 9 or 10.

In the end, all I could think was ‘holy crap that’s a lot of medication.’ I don’t know if I’ve ever been so excited about something that I’m simultaneously dreading at the same time.

 

